Introduction

Welcome to The Perfect Law of Liberty. This title is a reference to James 1:25, where Scripture itself is considered “the perfect law of liberty.” I will be periodically writing about various passages of Scripture, whatever I’m reading or find noteworthy, and what I’ve learned from them.

I’ll also be writing about images or metaphors that appear with meaning in Scripture. For example, a “rock” is often used as a metaphor for the Messiah himself (Daniel, Matthew, etc). I’ll probably write about this in greater detail at some point. I’ve found that there are many natural objects or images that have application to Scripture, and it is a very good way to connect Scripture to one’s daily life if everything one sees is linked to a Scripture reference.

One final note: I don’t consider myself an authority at all. Check everything I’ve said against Scripture if you don’t agree with me, or even if you do. This is for my edification first, to make me clarify my own thinking and study Scripture more consistently. Anyone who wishes to join me is welcome. I expect the subject matter might become controversial at times, and I’ll leave the comment ability open, but I won’t keep flaming or antagonistic comments.

This is the first step along the path. “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” Psalm 119:105

Leave a Reply

